Review: The Forbidden Library by Django Wexler

LibraryDjango Wexler

★★★
Kathy Dawson Books, 2014.

I’ve always loved libraries and I’m instantly drawn to any book with a library in it. The darker and more labyrinthine the better. That’s probably why I love The Name of the Rose, Jorge Luis Borges, The Sandman and the Eyre Affair.

It also explains why I gave this new kid’s book by fantasy up-and-comer Django Wexler a read. And while I enjoyed the tale of 10-year-old Alice as she becomes a magical “Reader”, one who can physically enter books and subdue the monsters within, I also found The Forbidden Library rife with clichés.

After her father mysteriously disappears in a shipwreck, Alice is transported to live with her “uncle” Geryon in his huge, empty mansion in Northwest Pennsylvania. Alice is given the run of the house, but told not to enter the labyrinthine library on the grounds. Shades of The Secret Garden?

Of course Alice disobeys and enters the library, where she meets a boy named Isaac and a talking cat named Ashes. Alice, talking cat – Lewis Carroll anyone? Isaac inadvertently shows her how to enter a book, where she manages to defeat the monster within and discovers her powers as a Reader.

Along the way, Alice learns more secrets about her family and that her father may not quite be dead. Geryon attempts to teach her how to wield her powers, and she runs afoul of his butler, the imposing Mr. Black.

Of course she triumphs in the end, discovering her powers and confronting the creature she believes responsible for her father’s disappearance, but that only opens more questions leading to an inevitable series.

While this book will certainly appeal to fans of Harry Potter or Jasper Fforde’s “Last Dragonslayer” series, it felt a little too YA for my tastes. But any book that sparks interest in libraries, and the secrets they contain, is a winner as far as I’m concerned.

—Michael Senft

Buy The Forbidden Library

About Michael Senft

I am a freelance writer and critic from Phoenix Arizona. I spent 10 years covering music, the arts and pop culture for the “Arizona Republic” before life circumstances took me away from newspaper. But I never lost my joy at writing. Or reading.
This entry was posted in Reviews, Three Stars and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: The Forbidden Library by Django Wexler

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    The cover looks epic!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Coming Soon — A Look at My Most Anticipated Books for 2015 | Relentless Reading (And Writing About It!)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s