Shirley Jackson Awards Announced

The nominees for the 2014 Shirley Jackson Awards were announced on Thursday, and while I haven’t read many of them, the ones I have are magnificent. Named after the acclaimed American horror writer, best known for the novella The Haunting of Hill House as well as the short stories “The Lottery” and “One Ordinary Day, With Peanuts”, the juried award is presented for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

The awards will be presented on July 12 at Readercon in Burlington, Mass.

Congratulations to all the nominees!




Short Fiction

Single-Author Collection

Edited Anthology

About Michael Senft

I am a freelance writer and critic from Phoenix Arizona. I spent 10 years covering music, the arts and pop culture for the “Arizona Republic” before life circumstances took me away from newspaper. But I never lost my joy at writing. Or reading.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Shirley Jackson Awards Announced

  1. Tammy says:

    I just love the slate this year! Definitely want to make time for Bird Box and The Lesser Dead which I already have copies of.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s